Staff and Alumni of Catholic Schools Winning National Awards

In recent weeks, various teachers and alumni from Catholic schools throughout Singapore have been recognised with national awards.

Ms Tan Shu Tian (HOD Education Technology) of St Anthony’s Primary School was one of six teachers who received the Outstanding Youth in Education Award (OYEA) 2022. MOE explains: “The OYEA is a national award that recognises and honours the achievements of young educators who have shown admirable passion for teaching, and commitment to inspiring and nurturing their students. Launched in 1999, it seeks to recognise excellent younger teachers for their youthful idealism, enthusiasm, energy and active involvement in the development of youth beyond the formal curriculum.”


CHIJ Katong Convent teachers who received National Day Awards included Mr Tan Tak Thye Nathanael (The Commendation Medal), Ms Wahidah Bte Ahamad (The Long Service Medal) and Ms Zakiah Binte Subahan (The Long Service Medal).

CHIJ Kellock National Day Award recipients included Mrs Hannah Yuen (Commendation Medal), Ms Jeannie Ho (Commendation Medal), Ms Daphne Wong (The Long Service Medal) and Mrs Khoo Kim Kiow (The Long Service Medal).

At St Joseph’s Institution, educators awarded on National Day were Mrs Anne Tan (Public Administration Medal (Bronze)), Mrs Nevina Ho (The Commendation Medal), and for the Long Service Medal: Ms Boon Yen Ping, Mrs Nevina Ho, Mr Jude Tan and Mr Wong Ting Hsin. In addition, Mr Tan Chorh Chuan (Class of 1975), chief health scientist at Ministry of Health (MOH), was one of three public service veterans who received the Distinguished Service Order for their contributions to the country over the years.

Montfort Junior awardees consisted of Level Head Ms Siti Nur Hajar (The Commendation Medal), and for the Long Service Medal: Teacher Mdm Poongodi d/o Chinniah, Lead Teacher Mr Soh Chee Yong Alvin and Year Head Mdm Loh Ai Ling Irene. Montfort Secondary awardees were Assistant Year Head Ms Yeo Su Lynn Jaime (The Commendation Medal), and for the Long Service Medal: Ms Lee Boy San (Laboratory Attendant), Ms Ang Guat Hong (Teacher), Mr Yu Yang Ming Ernest (HOD).

Catholic Junior College recipients of National Day Awards were comprised of Mr Philip Alvar (Public Administration Medal (Bronze)), Mdm Dorothy Chua (The Commendation Medal), Mr Bernard Yeong (The Commendation Medal), Mr Ivan Yeo (Public Administration Medal (Silver)), and for the Long Service Medal: Mr Conrad Lee, Mr Lester Low, Ms Yoong Lian Teen and Ms Chew Tyng Huey.

CJC Principal Mrs Phyllis Lim said, “We are grateful for the many years of dedicated service and contributions by our staff, members of the CJ School Management Committee (SMC) and CJ alumni and we thank God for their continued service to the college, community and the nation.”


Do you know of more educators, support staff or alumni from your school who were recognised on National Day? Let us know if you do!